Scholarships & Awards

ARNOVA Scholarships

Please note these scholarships are for supporting participation at our Conference. (We do not offer any other scholarships.)

To view or print all Scholarships and Awards application information click here.

Emerging Scholar Awards

Calling all Emerging Scholars! The Emerging Scholars Award is available to those who have had their paper accepted to present at this year's Conference. Please review the requirements and click here to apply by online form by August 31, 2014 at Midnight EST.

Conference Scholarships & Travel Grants

We are now accepting applications for financial assistance to attend the 43RD Annual Conference. To apply, please complete the online form by August 31, 2014 at Midnight EST.

ARNOVA Doctoral Fellows Program

Do you have an approved dissertation proposal? Would you like to participate in a fellowship seminar with senior scholars and fellow doctoral students to receive feedback and research advice on your dissertation? Click here to apply online by August 31, 2014 at Midnight EST.

RGK-ARNOVA President's Award

The RGK Center for Philanthropy and Community Service at the University of Texas at Austin and ARNOVA offer this annual award to encourage innovative, foundational research in the field of nonprofit and philanthropic studies. This is not a typical research grant. The RGK Center-ARNOVA President's Award provides a $10,000 prize to a member of ARNOVA to support basic research and theory building in the field of philanthropic, nonprofit and voluntary action studies. We are looking for new, creative work, and especially encourage projects that incorporate and apply insights, frameworks and theories from the social sciences to the study of nonprofit organizations, philanthropy and volunteerism. One grant is made each year, assuming a worthy proposal is submitted.

The Award recipient will be expected to produce a working paper that can be made available on the RGK Center website ( when finished, and a presentation of that paper can be made at the ARNOVA Conference the year it is completed. The recipient will be expected to produce the final paper within 12 months of the announcement of the Award. To apply, please click here. The application deadline is May 18, 2014 at Midnight EST.


Each year during the annual ARNOVA conference, the awards listed below are presented to individuals for their outstanding achievements. A listing of previous recipients of each award can be accessed by clicking on any of the links below. Specific nomination/application information including deadlines for each of the awards below is posted to the website as it is available each year.

Award for Distinguished Achievement and Leadership in Nonprofit and Voluntary Action Research (formerly called Award for Distinguished Lifetime Achievement)

Gabriel G. Rudney Memorial Award for Outstanding Dissertation in Nonprofit and Voluntary Action Research (formerly called ARNOVA Dissertation Award)

Outstanding Book in Nonprofit and Voluntary Action Research

Virginia A. Hodgkinson Research Book Prize (Awarded jointly by ARNOVA and Independent Sector.)

Outstanding Article in Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly (NVSQ)