Inside this section...

Community and Grassroots Associations (CGA) Section

The purpose of the Section is to foster and express the interests of ARNOVA members in community and grassroots associations, and to attract new members with these interests. CGA is the oldest and one of the largest sections in ARNOVA. Members represent a broad range of disciplines and are interested in such areas as democratic participation, community organizations and organizing, grassroots voluntary associations, self-help groups, community philanthropy, faith-based groups, cooperatives, and social movements of any and all kinds--in all parts of the world.

Visit the CGA blog.

The current leadership of the Section includes:

Jennifer Shea, President
Assistant Professor, MPA Program, School of Public Affairs & Civic Engagement,
San Francisco State University

Catherine E Wilson, President-Elect
Associate Professor, Political Science and Nonprofit Coordinator, MPA Program, Villanova University

Lehn M. Benjamin, Past President
Associate Professor, Lilly School of Philanthropy, Indiana University

Dave C. Campbell, Leadership Collective Member
Community Studies Specialist, Department of Human Ecology, University of California-Davis

Hector Cordero-Guzman, Leadership Collective Member
Professor, Baruch College, City University of New York

Stephen Danley, Leadership Collective Member
Assistant Professor of Public Policy and Administration, Rutgers University-Camden

Joon Kim, Leadership Collective Member
Graduate School of Public Administration, Kookman University

Erica Kohl-Arenas, Leadership Collective Member
Assistant Professor, Milano The New School for Management and Urban Policy

Joyce Rothschild
Professor, School of Public and International Affairs, Virginia Tech

David Suarez, Leadership Collective Member
Associate Professor, Evans School of Public Affairs, University of Washington

The Section's goals are to:

Annual dues for the Section are $10. Click here to join.