

ARNOVA

Presents the 2024 RGK-ARNOVA President's Award

to

C Balboa, E Bloodgood, Dipendra KC, A Domaradzka, E Kumi, P Mendonca, and C Pallas

for

"A Decolonized Research Approach to Understanding Civil Society's Fourth Era"

The RGK ARNOVA President's Award Committee is very pleased to select "A Decolonized Research Approach to Understanding Civil Society's Fourth Era" as the 2024 award winner. The proposal was submitted by Cristina M. Balboa, Elisabeth Bloodgood, Dipendra KC, Anna Domaradzka, Emmanuel Kumi, Patricia Maria Emerenciano Mendonca, and Christopher L. Pallas.

The project will produce locally grounded histories of civil society from six underexamined but important countries from the Global South (Brazil, Ghana, Kenya, Nepal, Poland, Thailand). The project is both retrospective and forward-thinking in its effort to understand civil society organizations' evolution across different legal and philanthropic landscapes while helping to anticipate the impact of new conditions on their future.

In making its selection, the committee noted the ambitious topic and its strong comparative research design employing a mixed methods approach. The multinational research team brings methodological diversity, a proven track record of collaboration, and an authentic effort at a locally grounded research enterprise. The committee anticipates that the effort to update past research on the operating environment for civil society organizations in low- to middle-income countries should offer new methodological and conceptual ideas to ARNOVA members.

The Committee also selects for Honorable Mention the following two applications:

Website: www.arnova.org Email Address: info@arnova.org Main: 317-684-2120



"Decision-making and Philanthropic Innovations: A Historical Inquiry", authored by Peter Weber

"Relieving Administrative Burdens for Nonprofit Service Providers in the Governmental Grantmaking Process: A Research-Practice Partnership", authored by Chengxin Xu, Yuan (Daniel) Cheng, Weston Merrick, Patrick Carter, and Kari Aanestad

Award Committee Members:

Alan Abramson Richard Clerkin Beth Gazley, Chair Lili Wang Kimberly Wiley

> Website: www.arnova.org Email Address: info@arnova.org Main: 317-684-2120